Executive Recruitment

About us

Political Composition

Elections were held in 15 of the 16 borough wards this year.





Green Party

Liberal Democrat




The Labour party holds majority control of the council.


Local Councillors are elected by the community to decide how the council should carry out its various activities. They represent public interest as well as individuals living within the ward in which he or she has been elected to serve a term of office.

They have regular contact with the general public through council meetings, telephone calls or surgeries. Surgeries provide an opportunity for any ward resident to go and talk their councillor face to face and these take place on a regular basis.

Councillors are not paid a salary for their work, but they do receive allowances. By law, all members of the Council are required to complete a declaration of interest form, the details of which are published annually.

Leader of the Council

The Leader of the Council is Cllr Jason Brock.

Find out more about our councillors here


Councillors are elected for four years. We have 46 councillors over 16 wards - three per ward except for Mapledurham which has one.



  • follow a code of conduct 
  • represent their ward constituents and campaign on local issues
  • make decisions at council and committee meetings
  • support local organisations and develop links with the community

Our Mayor

Councillor Paul Woodward was elected Mayor in May 2019.

Cllr Woodward was born in Berkshire and has lived in, and close to, Reading since 1982. He has worked in Reading since leaving Bulmershe College in 1990. Paul is a keen follower of Reading FC and a lover of Jazz.

Our Mayor worked as a Careers Adviser for many years, for the last few years working with teenagers within the Youth Justice system, working in prisons and running crime diversion projects.

Cllr Woodward won Church Ward from the Conservatives in 2011. He has been Vice Chair of the Reading Borough Council Licensing Committee, and a former member of the Planning and Transport Committees.  He was also a Group Whip and a non-executive Director of Reading Transport Ltd.

You can read more on our Mayor here